Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR)
European section of United Cities and Local Governments

Home / Members / About members

About members

100,000 local and regional governments united within CEMR’s 60 member associations

CEMR’s members are national associations of local and regional government, whose own members are local and regional authorities in their country. CEMR is made up of 60 member associations from 40 of the 47 Council of Europe member countries, including all 27 member states of the European Union (EU). Together, they represent some 150 000 municipalities and regions.

List of CEMR’s member associations

CEMR membership criteria

The Policy Committee examines and gives an opinion on the candidatures of associations wishing to join CEMR. When there are several associations from the same country, they gather into a national section. Such national sections must represent at least one third of the population of one or several local authority categories existing in the country, or at least a quarter of its population.

CEMR only recognises the national sections of European countries which hold local free elections as full members (with the right to vote) and they must also fulfil the democratic conditions of the Council of Europe.

The national sections of states that are not members of the Council of Europe and the European groupings of local and regional authorities may become associated members of CEMR.

Membership of CEMR takes effect after the Section whose candidature is accepted has paid its affiliation fee.
Développez vos ventes : conseil marketing Organisation - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation référencement sur Google de site Internet - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation Référencement naturel sur Google, SEO