Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR)
European section of United Cities and Local Governments

Home / Members / Members map / Estonia


Estonia is a unitary state composed of rural municipalities (vald) and cities (linn).
Local level: 64 rural municipalities (vald) and 15 cities (linn)
The municipal council (volikogu) is the municipality's legislative body and is composed of members, whose number varies according to the demographic size of the local authority, elected by direct universal suffrage for four years. The municipal council appoints and may dismiss the council chair as well as the mayor. It is assisted in its work by sector-based commissions.

The local government (valitsus) is the municipality's executive body. It is made up of the mayor and of members appointed by the mayor, following the council's approval. Members of the local government cannot sit on the municipal council.

The mayor (vallavanem in rural municipalities and linnapea in cities) is appointed by the municipal council for a four-year term. He/she is the representative of the local government but cannot be the municipal council chair.

  • Education
  • Social welfare
  • Health services
  • Culture, leisure and sports
  • Social housing
  • Urban and rural planning
  • Tourism
  • Public transport
  • Water supply, sewage, public lighting and central heating
  • Environment
  • Waste collection and disposal
  • Road and cemetery maintenance
  • Local taxes

CEMR in Estonia

Association of Estonian Cities and Municipalities
Executive Director:  Veikko LUHALAID
Eesti Linnade ja Valdade Liit
12 Roosikrantsi, B Korpus, 2nd floor, 10119 Tallinn
Tel.: +372 60 43 001
Fax: +372 6 94 34 25
Développez vos ventes : conseil marketing Organisation - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation référencement sur Google de site Internet - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation Référencement naturel sur Google, SEO