Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR)
European section of United Cities and Local Governments

Home / Members / Members map / Denmark


Denmark is a unitary state composed of municipalities (kommuner) and regions (regioner).

Data: 2016
Local level: 98 municipalities (kommuner)
The municipal council (kommunalbestyrelsen or byrådet) is composed of members elected by direct universal suffrage for four years and by a system of proportional representation.  It is in charge of the municipal budget, the running of local institutions and the adoption of local policies.

The executive committees (kommunale udvalg) are in charge of local administration. Their members are appointed by the municipal council for a period of four years. Permanent committees assist the municipal council in the preparation of its decisions. The council is obliged to set up a financial committee but may also set up special committees, such as the education committee, the employment committee and the health and social affairs committees.

The municipal council also elects the mayor (borgmesteren) for four years. He/she heads the municipality's administration as well as the municipal council.


• Primary education, including special education for adults
• Childcare
• Care for the elderly
• Social services: total regulatory, supply and financing responsibility
• Social psychiatry
• Health care preventive treatment,
care and rehabilitation, home care
and treatment of alcohol
and drug abuse
• Integration of refugees
and immigrants
• Environmental protection and waste management, water and preparation of local plans
• Unemployed service
• Assistance to the unemployed
• Economic development
• Culture and sports
• Local business service
and local tourism
• Local roads
Regional level: 5 regions (regioner)
The regional council (regionsrådet) is the region’s deliberative body and is composed of members elected by direct universal suffrage for a period of four years by a system of proportional representation.  It can establish special committees, such as the hospitals committee, the regional development committee and the sustainability committee, which can be assisted by dedicated secretariats.  The regional council also appoints its chairman.

The executive committees (udvalg) are composed of members elected by and from within the regional council for four years. They oversee the administration of the region and assist the regional council in the preparation and implementation of its decisions.

The chairman (regionsrådsformanden) of the regional council heads the council and administration. He/she is elected by the regional council from amongst its members and is assisted by deputies also elected by the council.


. Health care
. Hospital
. Health insurance
. Mental health treatment
. Social services and special education
. Regional development
. Business promotion
. Tourism
. Nature and environment
. Employment
. Culture
. Transport
. Soil pollution


Danish regions and the Island of Bornholm are also in charge of a regional growth forum, composed of representatives from the region, municipalities, local trade and industry, knowledge institutions and the labour market.  Their mission is to create optimal conditions for trade and industry in order to generate growth and development.

Greenland and the Faeroe Islands have an autonomous status. They both have their own government and legislative assembly.

CEMR in Denmark

Local Government Denmark (LGDK)
Managing Director: Kristian WENDELBOE
Kommunernes Landsforening
Weidekampsgade 10, Postboks 3370, 2300 Copenhagen S
Tel.: +45 33 70 33 70
Fax: +45 33 70 30 51
Danish Regions
Managing Director: Adam WOLF
Danske Regioner
Dampfaergevej 22, PO Box 2593, 2100 Copenhagen Ø
Tel.: +45 35 29 81 00
Fax: +45 35 29 83 00
Développez vos ventes : conseil marketing Organisation - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation référencement sur Google de site Internet - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation Référencement naturel sur Google, SEO