Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR)
European section of United Cities and Local Governments

Home / Members / Members map / Hungary


Hungary is a unitary state composed of municipalities (települések), cities (városok), cities with county rank (megyei jogú városok), capital city districts (fővárosi kerületek) and counties (megyék).

Data: 2016
Local level: 3,177 municipalities (települések), towns (városok), towns with county rank (megyei jogú városok), 23 capital town districts (fővárosi kerületek) and the city of Budapest
The body of representatives (képviselõ-testület) is the municipality’s legislative body. It is composed of
members elected by direct universal suffrage for five years, responsible for the management and control of the municipality. Its decisions are presented in the form of resolutions and decrees.

The mayor’s office (Polgármesteri hivatal) is the municipality’s executive body and the mayor presides over the body of representatives. He/ she is a member of the body of representatives and is elected by
direct universal suffrage for a five-year term. The body of representatives is obliged to elect deputy mayors from within its ranks or may also elect external persons to this post, on the basis of a secret ballot.

The notary (jegyző) is appointed by the mayor, usually for an undetermined period of time.
He/she is at the head of the local administration and is the head of the mayor’s office. She/he prepares
and assists the work of the body of representatives and of the mayor, and executes their decisions.


. Local development
. Urban planning
. Protection of the environment
. Housing
. Public transport
. Social services
. Maintenance of roads, public areas, cemeteries and sewage
. Water resources
. Fire services
. Culture


The capital city of Budapest is composed of 23 districts. This level is managed by autonomous local
entities, which have the status of a municipality. The capital general assembly is composed of the mayors of the 23 districts and the Lord Mayor who is also elected by direct universal suffrage.
Intermediary level: 19 counties (megyék)
The county council (megyei közgyûlés) is the county’s deliberative body. It is composed of members elected from party lists for a five-year term. The sphere of power of the county local government has been reduced since 2011.

The county chair (közgyűlés elnöke) is elected for a five-year mandate by
and from within the county council. The county’s executive branch is the county local government office
and the chair represents the county council. Towns with more than 50,000 inhabitants can gain the rank of a county. However, this process is quite rare in Hungary, as the last town to have gained county rank was Érd in 2006. There are 23 towns with county status in Hungary.


. Secondary schools
. Cultural infrastructures (libraries, museums, etc.)
. Maintenance of retirement homes and hospitals
. Land development
. Tourism


There is no hierarchy between local and county authorities as they have equal rights in the eyes of the national government.

CEMR in Hungary

Hungarian National Association of Local Authorities (TÖOSZ) / Association of Hungarian Local Governments and Representatives (MÖSZ)
Secretary General: Dr Gábor ZONGOR
Települesi Önkormanyzatok Orszagos Szövetsege
44, Damjanich utca, 3rd floor - 1071, Budapest
Mailing address: 1386, Budapest, 62 Pf. 908
Tel.: +36 1 322 38 43 or 322 66 73
Fax: +36 1 322 74 07 or 413 04 82
Partnership of Hungarian Local Government Associations
President: Dr József DANCSÓ
Kisvárosi Önkormányzatok Országos Érdekszövetsége (KÖOESZ)
Szabadság tér 4-6, 5900 Orosháza
Szent István utca 42, 4501 Kemecse
Tel.: +36 42 919 124
Fax: +36-42-919 139
E-mail :
Développez vos ventes : conseil marketing Organisation - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation référencement sur Google de site Internet - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation Référencement naturel sur Google, SEO